terewprof.blogg.se

Kindle for kids
Kindle for kids







However, when it replaces the imagination that books help foster, replacing the enjoyment and basic skills of reading fluency and comprehension, then I have an issue with it. I’m not against the use of entertainment and media in the education of our students and kids. That makes it hard for many of our children to sit still and read a book for an extended period of time, while using their imagination in the process. You have images on screen changing every couple of seconds and capturing our children’s attention, creating the end product for them. The entertainment media from television, movies, DVDs, and video games is difficult to compete against in this digital age. Let’s face it many students and kids don’t read much anymore. How great is that?Īs a special education teacher, who works with teens and kids who are struggling readers, I am always looking for ways to motivate and encourage the joy of reading. The Amazon Kindle allows me to do this digitally right on the ebook device. Finally, if something strikes me in a book, I usually highlight it and write notes in the margin. That’s great for the times when I can’t get to a book store late at night to scan or buy a book. Third, I can buy or preview a chapter of any book from Amazon’s collection at the push of a button as long as I have WIFI availability. Second, the Kindle is lightweight, has excellent battery life, and easy on my eyes. So, instead of carrying my bible and two or more books with me when I travel, I can store them all on my Kindle. First, I can store hundreds of ebooks on the Kindle and read them all on one device. There are plenty of ebook readers out there that are good, but I can only speak from my experience with my Kindle. My Amazon Kindle changed all of that and made my reading experience that much more refreshing. Ebooks were not new to me, but I could never keep them in one place and I needed a computer to read them. Either it is too much to carry or frustrating deciding what to read.Īll that changed this Christmas when Santa (my in-laws) bought me my first ebook reader, the Amazon Kindle. The problem is when I leave my house or travel, I always like to carry a bunch of books with me on different topics, but it is always inconvenient. Right now my books are in boxes in a closet in my hallway categorized: children's books, business books, books on the art of writing, Christian living books, education books, bibles and study aids, etc. One of my dreams is to have a study or office large enough for my collection of books, but I don’t have it at this time. If I had to drop everything and leave immediately from my house and take only a few prized possessions, then it would without a doubt be my collection of books hands down. Let me start off with a little confession. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.” “The more that you read, the more things you will know.









Kindle for kids